Ward Boundary changes

The Boundaries Commission has now reported to the Scottish Ministers on ward boundary changes for East Lothian.  It confirms that the number of wards will go down from seven to six and the total number of councils reduced by one.  Musselburgh will be separated from Wallyford and Whitecraig and will be represented by four councillors who will cover the whole of the town.  In a change of mind on the part of the Commission following all of our representations, Inveresk will not be split between two wards and all of it will remain in Musselburgh.  Common sense has prevailed at least in this respect. The ward boundary at Inveresk will run from the A1 along the Crookston Road path to the railway bridge and then eastwards along the railway.  The issues that remain are whether Wallyford and Whitecraig with their strong links with Musselburgh should be separated from Musselburgh and whether with the huge increase in population proposed it makes any sense reducing the number of councillors – seemingly with little in the way of financial saving. I suppose they could also have an impact on how secondary school provision is to be organised with the cluster split between two wards. If people in Musselburgh, Wallyford and Whitecraig have concerns about the boundary proposals they should write to Colin Beattie MSP expressing them and asking him to bring them to the attention of Scottish Ministers.

Regards, Barry Turner, Chairman, Inveresk Village Society and member of the Musselburgh Area Partnership


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s